Puella Magi Madoka Magica – Batch

KITTEH

Look at the pwetty kitty (ignore the Jpeg artifacts)

Yo, this is a post for my first  public release ever and what a shitty one it was…

More info after the break (tl;dr: more effort/quality for future releases)

Puella_Magi_Madoka_Magica_[1080p-10bit-x264-AAC][Flep] [Torrent] [XDCC]


Technical stuff

Raws: BDMV from share
Video: 1080p 10bit x264@L4.1 crf18
Audio: 48khz stereo AAC@q0.7(~256kbps)
Subs:  yesy, puella magi wiki(Song tl)
File:  Matroska, ordered chapters

My comments

So my comments on this release and a what I’ll do differently in future releases:

First of all this encode was done with an x264.nl release and not JEEBs patched build, so there may be some chroma errors.

The encode was unoptimized and the filtering was limited to a global gradfun3. Expect better stuff in the future.

Since my original aim was to create a compatible batch (8bit@L4.1/AAC) I kept the audio in AAC, but compatibility is stupid when you release 10bit and therefore future releases will have Vorbis or recut source audio.

Subtitles, The typesetting will not be done by me next times, because all Arial minimal processor usage is ugly and should be banned. The style may also be edited slightly to make it more readable Margins). And I may apply some minor editing of my own in some cases (won’t be much since I’m not a native).

Distro will not change much probably. I’ll create the batch after the fileserve uploads have finished next time so that I don’t start off seeding with <10kbps. I may also start using megaupload for DDLs, but it’s a lot less uploader friendly. Also I may get a seedbox or I’ll see if I can get some fastlink bandwidth on fileserve.

As for the ordered chapters, I love this feature and will continue using it in any way I can. That means that you have to make sure that haali media splitter is up to date.

That’s about it, be sure to check the info and contact me if you need me.

4 responses to “Puella Magi Madoka Magica – Batch

  1. Looks like you have the best encode out there (filesize-wise). Would you consider working your magic again with the tri4 release of Madoka? They’ve included and subbed the commentary tracks. The commentary runs through the OPs and EDs though…

    • If I am going to release this again with commentary, I’m going to do the whole encode again.
      It’s just not up to my current standards and personally I don’t want to spend much time on this show anymore…
      Maybe I’ll do it someday, but no motivation a.t.m.

  2. Yo Flep, don’t suppose I could have a link for yonder Madoka scripts? Pretty please with multiple nubile lusty catgirls on top? See, I’ve already got a bluray version myself but you’ve used different song tl and such so I thought it might be interesting to check ’em out and compare. What say you, good sir?!

    P.S. Nice job with UN-GO. Tiny size but BIG quality. Just the way I like it 🙂

    • I don’t think my scripts are compatible with any other releases because they have been modified to work with ordered chapters. I could rip them for you, but since it’s just the yesy scripts without any editing and the song tl from the puella magi wiki without editing it’s not special in any way.
      In your case you could just get the yesy scripts or ask someone with the coalgirls release to rip them.

Leave a comment