Status Post

Last updated: 22/09/2014 – Updates pls.
I’ve been busy lately and unmotivated for solo projects.
Most of the work I’m doing is for Ai-dle at this point, where I encode Lady Jewelpet and edit/QC/release Pretty Rhythm Dear My Future.
My other activities are mainly buying/uploading BDs and I’ve done some raw encodes that can be found on nyaa.
Shit I still intend to get done: Wooser
Shit I’m planning:
Pretty Rhythm Aurora Dream – BDs [with modified(?) KS-W subtitles]
Probably a solo project, I’m also the person buying the boxes so I don’t depend on others.
If there’s a TLC/editor that wants to help I’m open for it.
First half probably during christmas break, second half whenever.
And also any other Pretty Rhythm seasons when their BD boxes come out.
Also maybe doing Aikatsu! BD stuff, but I’m not sure if I want to. I’m the person buying/uploading these as well.

21 responses to “Status Post

  1. Awesome! You’re doing Penguindrum? Coalgirls is way, way behind on it—Vol. 6 and 7 have yet to be released. Will you also do 6+7 along with Vol 8? That would be amazing seeing as Cyrus has been AWOL there for more than two months. Can’t wait to see it and thanks for doing it (if you are)!

  2. I guess SZS would be good top have in one, non-bloated source, rather than that one torrent on Nyaa that’s a mish-mash of other sub groups, as well as the other seasons.

    • I have the BDMV’s for the third box, so that’s Goku, Zan and the Zan-Bangaichi.
      I also have the BDMV for the special that was released this year, but the Commie release is good enough for now.
      As for earlier seasons, getting the BDs will be hard, so don’t expect anything happening for those.
      Edit: I’ve actually started the downloads for season 1 and 2 in both Share and PD (at least the parts that I could find for now), but I don’t know if it’s even possible to complete them. Oh well it can’t hurt to try.

  3. Regarding SZS.

    For S1, fuktlogic never fully transcribed all of afk’s signs, and left out the songs for some reason. A number of groups used fuktlogic’s subs for their own BD releases, but none of them fixed the aforementioned problems. As far as I know, there are no timed transcripts of afk’s subs available.

    For S2, the only available release is a clusterfuck of several groups, most of which are hardsubbed, and one in particular has next to no signs. Although uguu’s subs are available, they only did half the season, meaning it’s still a daunting task.

    Checking the signs are the same as the TV (you know SHAFT), checking the typesetting for the resolution changes, and shifting and QCing the absurd amount of dialogue is still a monumental pain in the ass even if you were to use the available softsub scripts. It turns into a crazy amount of effort when you take OCRing and timing the hardsubs into account. There’s a very good reason why every attempt at a re-release is stalled or dropped; it’s a massive amount of effort. The BDs looking like total arse gravy just rubs salt in the wounds.

    • Yeah there is a reason I chose S3 to start with and skipped SZS, Zoku and possibly Goku for now.
      The nice thing about everything after the Goku OVAs is that it doesn’t look like complete arse, but actually looks pretty decent (relatively), but it’s still in SD so I will probably end up doing 576p and no HD release. (the OP and few scenes are not worth it imho)
      The first 2 seasons may or may not be done after everything in the S3 BD, depending on if I can find motivation, the time, can completely download them (Share/PD are slow, especially on older stuff) or just buy them myself, but I’d rather not spend money on BDs that look like crap.
      Anyway, I know what I started and intend to finish at least Zan and the Bangaichi and probably Goku.
      After that’s done I’ll see what I can do about the earlier seasons, but maybe I’ll encode and release those as raws at first. (because I like encoding more than script work)

      Thanks for the info on the previous seasons and hopefully I get something done before I drop this project…

      • The current situation with Bangaichi is pretty bad, so starting from there would prove worth it, imo. Goku is more or less ok, being a dvd rip anyway. I doubt the bds are a noticeable improvement, after all. But, yeah, the first and the second season have killed not one or two groups…

        I just hope tp7 finishes PPD at last.

    • I’ve actually been considering it and did some test encodes.
      Finals end today so I should have time for this again and Nerawareta Gakuen is on my list of “quick” projects I was already working on.
      If I like the gg encode I’ll probably drop this, but that’s something I’ll figure out later.

  4. NHK lacks a decent release btw. All we’ve got is some old tv rip by oyasumi and ED’s DVD with meh subtitles.

    • Yeah, but university started actually taking time to do…
      I have some free time now since last weekend so I might get around to doing something soon, but these kinds of projects don’t get much priority.

  5. Would you do a release of Simoun? There exist DVD rips at 576p but the best available subbed release is a 476p encode on bakabt.

    The best subs are the ones by Simoun-Fans on nyaa, but their release is a hardsubbed low-quality TV rip; the bakabt release has their scripts but edits out everything but the raw dialogue, replaces their lyrics with the R1 translations, and has none of the pretty typesetting or fonts. It’s probably too much to ask for you to somehow replicate the Simoun-Fans typesetting, but it would be nice to have a 576p release with their translation prettied up a little again (and their lyric translations back); the R1 translation has terrible, stilted dialogue and ugly name translations imo. I’d do this myself if I could, since Simoun’s a personal favourite of mine, but I have zero motivation, experience with encoding, or any idea of where to start.

    • I don’t actually do encoding projects any more and wouldn’t just randomly pick something up.
      Sorry, you’re on your own if you want a decent release.

Leave a comment