Hanasaku Iroha – batch

Heron is best character

Hanasaku Iroha [BD][Flep][576p][720p][1080p]
XDCC[576p][720p][1080p]

For some reason I’ve delayed this release like 2 weeks even though it was done already and uploaded to seedbox… Anyway on to the actual information.
I love this show and didn’t like that BD encodes were Coalgirls and/or huge, so have some reasonable filesize with minimal sacrifice.


Technical stuff

  Raws:
    BDMV vol.1-9
  Video:
    1080p 10bit x264@L5.1 (~2946kb/s)
     720p 10bit x264@L5.0 (~1742kb/s)
     576p 10bit x264@L5.0 (~781kb/s)
  Audio:
    48KHz stereo Vorbis@q7 (~194kb/s) (720p, 1080p)
    48KHz stereo Vorbis@q4 (~109kb/s) (576p)
  Subs:
    Underwater-Commie (Modified by Golo, Sucram03 [Hobiron])
  Files:
    Matroska with ordered chapters
    NCOPs/NCEDs have a the same SID
    as the default OPs/EDs.

More details:

A while ago I wanted to rewatch this but I found that the releases out there were pretty big and because this show is relatively easy to encode I decided to do it (because downloading 182GB of BDMVs is somehow less than 36GB).

Did 3 resolutions because the 576p and 720p probably are better than the alternatives for those resolutions. Filtering is pretty much just blurring a dirty line around the edges and AA because P.A. Works BDs look pretty good already.
Didn’t notice any cross-conversion while watching, if I missed it it’s because I was too busy enjoying the show and you should probably just enjoy the show too.

Subtitles are pretty much the ones from Hobiron shifted to work with OC and I didn’t edit the dialogue in any way.

This release uses ordered chapters for the opening and ending, but some episodes have slight differences in the ED so those episodes don’t use external endings.
The standard versions with credits are the default ones and the creditless versions are in a separate directory.
You can switch to the creditless versions by moving the current OPs/EDs to another directory and moving the NCOPs/NCEDs into the folder with the episodes. Because the SIDs are the same the NCOPs/NCEDs will also work with the current chapters.
Note: If you have more than one video with the same SID in the same directory ordered chapters won’t work properly. So make sure that you move the files you switch out somewhere else.

20 responses to “Hanasaku Iroha – batch

  1. Seems awesome; Hanasaku was one of the series that I had not replaced with a 1080p one yet. Thanks so much, I will check it out!

  2. Please fix the episode 1, I can play it but it won’t allow me to skip scenes and the duration in the seeking bar is 0:00, I only have this problem with episode 1 but other episodes works fine.

    • Are you sure your codecs are up to date? A fresh CCCP install plays them just fine and I haven’t had any problems playing it across several computers/setups.
      It sounds like a problem with ordered chapters, but episode 1 and 26 actually don’t use ordered chapters at all so it’s not that.
      Have you tried checking the file integrity with the sfv or by adding the torrent again and rechecking all the files?
      That should fix the files if they’re corrupted in any way.

      • I tried re-downloading the first episode and it still gives me that problem. And yes, my codecs are updated. This is the very first time that I’ve encountered this, all my other animes plays fine. It’s really just THIS episode.

    • You already have all the files before ordered chapters were added to them, the whole point of having ordered chapters is not having to encode the OP/ED for every episode and just inserting the external one using chapters.
      I’m not going to rebatch this, but I think there are tools out there to automatically splice the OP/ED I cut out into the actual episodes if you really wanted to waste more space.

            • I grabbed my 576p and the unlinkmkv windows build and it worked out of the box, so good job messing that up I guess.
              I’m not really interested in helping you debug software I didn’t write on your own system, so I’ll just leave it at this.

                • I took the impossibly difficult step of downloading and extracting it to a directory called unlinkmkv, then downloading my own release into another directory and typing the following command line:

                  unlinkmkv\unlinkmkv.exe  "Hanasaku Iroha [BD-576p][Flep]"

                  Then I waited for it to finish.

                    • I’m not going to help you figure out how a command line works. Every encoder worth a shit should be capable of figuring out how to do this.
                      Go read some documentation or something.

                    • Oh good, so you’re only familiar with a single program that does everything for you and you never bothered looking into what it’s actually doing?
                      Everyone has to start somewhere and I did do some re-encoding personally when I started out (never published), but at least I knew what every part of my toolchain did.
                      Your re-encoding program internally uses all kinds of tools which I’ve probably used in the past at some point, but I used them form the command line while knowing their individual functionality.
                      A good start would be learning how a command line works though, since you seem to be having problems with the concept of a directory.

                    • Eh, I’m not pissed just tired so I have less energy to deal with shit like this.

Leave a comment